A day without Google

The alarm was ringing and I jerk awake and my half-conscious mind was searching the snooze button in my smartphone. The sudden rush of conscious state gave me a shudder when I realised it was my old-fashioned alarm clock that was ringing, and that my phone got damaged the previous night during the party.

I realised what a dreaded weekend it is. I lost the habit of remembering all the contact numbers (which I used to, during the good old landline era). I forgot how to ask for directions, as now I had the power of maps and GPS navigation. How will I track my health, how will I keep up with my appointments, how will I keep up with the post of my virtual friends (whom I have never seen in person), how will I keep up with the virtual world of social commitment of which I am a part……

I was confused and was shifting towards paranoia. I shut my thoughts and got out of my apartment. I saw a beautiful sunrise and a hundred strangers, most looking down at their hands where they had their world within. The world I saw was beautiful but strange, and to me, it seemed virtual and my smartphone world seemed to me as real.

Published by

Syam Nair

Technocrat, Traveler, & Researcher

Leave a comment