What it takes to be an entrepreneur – Part 1

When I first started my business in 2011 as a registered firm, I have had lot many questions and strong emotional interjections from people I know  and very dear ones. 99 percent voted for me a secure government job is what I required in this era of financial recessions and over saturated Information Technology area, but my story began not in 2011; it began back in 2008 during my college days and it all started from a heart break and a dream.

My name is Syam S  Nair and currently the CMD of Thakshashila R&D Pvt Ltd, and this is about what it took for my entrepreneurship. From the start of my college life I never wanted to settle in with a normal 10- 5 job, nor did the Indian techie life excite me, except of course the monthly six figure some of my relatives were entitled to. What excited me instead was learning outside the textbooks, teaching what I learned, getting inspired from nature. That was what I was; wild and free; leashed to no walls of knowledge.

As wise men says a wild soul has a tormented mind; mine was too. I had ideas, plans and “would work out” kind all over my mind. Its was murky and it needed inspiration to make the waters clear. The journey next was for inspiration, but little did I know then that all you need is inside you; but that is the way all who leads take, and that is exactly the way you must take if you want to lead. The reason for that is simple, for if you decide to go through the way a wise man shows you, it is his way, not yours and it is his decision and not yours. A leader must always be open to suggestions and opinions, but all the decision he must take should be his own; whether wrong or right.

The first decision I took is the strongest and hardest decision by far in my life. I had to decide whether to hold on to my love of the life or to grab on to a distant dream with flickering hope not even bright as the dimmest star one could spot. I chose the dream, for it was me, and still it was not about me.

A strong decision with a rock solid heart, and yes you must bear all those emotional turmoil within yourself, is the first on the list for what it takes to be an entrepreneur. A leader is not the one who assesses and sit aback, he is the one who takes risks and decides.

Published by

Syam Nair

Technocrat, Traveler, & Researcher

Leave a comment